The FIFA World Cup final was held roughly 2 weeks ago and has already been made controversial. The fans, especially those of France, have drummed it up as it was said that Lionel Messi’s second goal of the game shouldn’t have been awarded.

Let’s take a detailed look at the goal, which if not given, would’ve changed the result of the game. 

What happened? 

Messi scores from a near extent to give Argentina the lead in the extra time. But, after the goal had been allocated there were claims that the goal should not be awarded because two Argentina substitutes warming up stepped onto the field before the goal was scored. In compliance with FIFA’s Laws of the Game, a goal should be turned down, if an extra person is on the field when the goal is scored.

Now, by the rules, the umpire should have disallowed this goal. But, the exact opposite happened. The French spectators were furious. 

The aftermath of this Drama: 

People were disappointed over this nasty decision, but the football bodies were adamant about the decision taken. The International Football Association Board has stated to a News Broadcaster that the above-mentioned rule is only relevant when the extra players hinder or obstruct the play. In the case of Lionel Messi’s goal, the two substitute players were far away from the play. Hence, it was a legal goal scored by Messi.

France’s Propaganda against World Champions

As expected, the French were the first to react. They have started propaganda against Argentina and some people have also started an online petition which thousands of people have signed. The petition is for reconducting the FIFA World Cup 2022 final. 

Well! That is a wish which will hardly be even considered worth looking at.

Umpire being at the centre of the conflict

The head umpire for the Final, Szymon Marciniak, was harshly criticised for this controversial decision. But he has hit back at those fans who are falsely criticising him over a correct decision regarding the legitimacy of  Lionel Messi’s goal. 

Marciniak, in a press conference, discussed his decision and pointed out by showing a photo of French players entering the pitch and said: “The French didn’t mention this photo, where you can see there are seven Frenchmen on the pitch when Mbappe scores a goal”. This was like sprinkling salt on the wounds of French people. The referee’s decision was by the Fifa Laws and the goal was chalked off as legal.


Although covered with controversies, the 2022 Fifa WorldCup Final went on to become one of the most scintillating final games ever played. Lionel Messi led his team to glory for the first and last time in his career.

Also Read:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *