The 2023 Men’s Hockey World Cup was the 15th edition of the Men’s Hockey World Cup. It was held at the Kalinga Stadium in Bhubaneswar and the Birsa Munda International Hockey stadium in Rourkela, India from 13th to 29th January 2023.

2023 Men’s Hockey World Cup – First Round:

The 16 teams were divided into 4 groups. In Pool A Australia, Argentina, France, and the only African team South Africa was there. Australia was considered the underdogs and they proved it by defeating  France 8-0 and South Africa 9-2. And qualified for the next round along with Argentina. Pool B with a mix of Europe and Asian sides, Belgium and Germany qualified. In Pool C Netherlands was unbeaten and they scored 14 goals against Chile. The host India was in group D along with England, Spain, and Wales. India and England qualified for the  Second round.

2023 Men’s Hockey World Cup – Second Round:


Spain beat Malaysia to qualify for the quarter-finals. Germany scored 5 goals against France to qualify. The host India was knocked out by New Zealand in P.S.O 5-4. The last match of crossovers was won by South Korea 3-2 in P.S.O.


The first Quater-final was won by the underdogs Australia by beating Spain. Germany won their quarter-final match against England in P.S.O. Newzeland who earlier knocked out the host, lost their match against Belgium 2-0. The unbeaten Netherlands continued with their winning streak by defeating Korea 5-1.


Australia VS Germany 

The first Semi-final was played between Australia and Germany at Kalinga Stadium, After 2 goals in the first 27 minutes Australia was dominating the game but in 43 minutes. German Peillat scored the first goal and after back-to-back goals, scored the hat trick. In 58 minutes Govers scored the goal and the score was tied 3-3, but after 2 minutes Wellen scored the match-winning goal and took Germany to the final.

Also Read: BarcaGate Scandal: Ex-Barca Board Member throws ridicules at Messi; Calls him “Hormonal Dwarf and Sewer Rat.”

Belgium Vs Netherlands

The Second Semi-final was played between Belgium and the unbeaten Netherlands. Janssen scored 2 goals and brought the Netherlands into a winning situation, but De kernel’s 45th-minute goal brought Belgium back into the game. There were continuous tries but both teams failed to take the lead.


Back-to-back missed penalties by Van Ass Pieters meant an end to the Netherlands campaign and Belgium qualified for the final.

Final – Belgium vs Germany

Belgium vs Germany hockey World Cup final was an exciting match-up between two skilled teams. In the 48th minute, Germany took the lead and the match was tied and went on a penalty shoot-out and ultimately Germany won by 5-4.

Man of the Match

Niklas Wellen won the best player of the final award. He scored the goal that got Germany in the lead. Moreover, he was composed in the penalty shootout and converted two chances.

Tournaments Awards:

Most team goalsNetherlands (32 goals)
Best team goal celebrationSouth Korea
Fans choiceChristopher Ruhr (GER)
Best junior playerMustaphaa Cassiem (RSA)
Top scorerJeremy Hayward (AUS)
Best goalkeeperVincent Vanasch (BEL)
Best defenderJeremy Hayward (AUS)
Best midfielderVictor Wegnez (BEL)
Best forwardNiklas Wellen (GER)
Player of the tournamentNiklas Wellen (GER)

Read More: 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *