In a breathtaking finale that had fans on the edge of their seats, the Chennai Super Kings (CSK) clinched their fifth IPL title, equalling the record set by the Mumbai Indians. The grand event unfolded at a rain-interrupted stadium, where the Gujarat Titans set an imposing target of 214/4 with Sai Sudharsan’s explosive knock of 96 off just 47 balls.

Despite slight drizzles throughout the Gujarat Titans’ innings, play continued uninterrupted. Wriddhiman Saha played a crucial role, scoring 54 off 39 deliveries, while his opening partner, Shubman Gill, managed 39 off 20. The Titans managed to maintain a steady run rate, thanks to Sudharsan’s power-packed innings, featuring eight fours and six sixes.


However, as the Chennai Super Kings began their chase, heavy rain poured down after the third ball of the first over. The rain itself was brief, but a problematic practice pitch at the edge of the square resulted in a significant delay due to the wet outfield. Eventually, the match was reduced to 15 overs, and CSK’s revised target was set at 171.

Resuming the match, CSK fought valiantly in what turned out to be a see-saw battle. Key contributions from Devon Conway, Ajinkya Rahane, Shivam Dube, and Ambati Rayudu kept CSK’s hopes alive. Yet, whenever the opposition seemed to be pulling away, the experienced bowler Mohit Sharma struck crucial blows to keep CSK’s chances intact.

With the match coming down to the wire, Mohit Sharma was entrusted with the responsibility of bowling the final over. CSK needed 10 runs off the last two balls to claim the championship. Against all odds, the indomitable Ravindra Jadeja stepped up, smashing the second-to-last delivery for a stunning six. With one ball remaining, the pressure reached its peak, but Jadeja’s exceptional skill and composure prevailed as he slammed a boundary, triggering jubilant celebrations among the CSK camp and fans alike.

The victory marked CSK’s fifth IPL title, cementing its reputation as one of the most successful franchises in the tournament’s history. Ravindra Jadeja’s heroics in the final over will be remembered as one of the most thrilling moments in IPL history, showcasing his prowess as an exceptional all-rounder. The CSK team, led by their charismatic captain, once again proved their mettle and ability to perform under pressure, etching their names into the annals of IPL greatness.


IPL Winners List 2008 to 2023

Since its inception, the Indian Premier League (IPL) has served as a battleground for fierce competition, unforgettable moments, and exhilarating clashes. 

Year after year, teams have battled relentlessly in pursuit of the coveted title, treating fans to thrilling encounters. From the Rajasthan Royals’ triumphant IPL campaign in the inaugural season at DY Patil Stadium to the Chennai Super Kings’ historic feat of matching the Mumbai Indians’ record at Narendra Modi Stadium in 2023, each IPL season has showcased the exceptional talent and unrivalled excitement. 

Noteworthy teams such as the Gujarat Titans, Lucknow Super Giants, and Mumbai Indians have left an indelible impact on the tournament, showcasing their dominance and captivating cricket enthusiasts worldwide. The IPL has undeniably emerged as the premier stage for T20 cricket, captivating fans with its pulsating matches and showcasing the sport at its finest.

List of IPL Title Since 2008

  • 2008: Rajasthan Royals (Runner-up: Chennai Super Kings, Venue: Mumbai)
  • 2009: Deccan Chargers (Runner-up: Royal Challengers Bangalore, Venue: Johannesburg)
  • 2010: Chennai Super Kings (Runner-up: Mumbai Indians, Venue: Mumbai)
  • 2011: Chennai Super Kings (Runner-up: Royal Challengers Bangalore, Venue: Chennai)
  • 2012: Kolkata Knight Riders (Runner-up: Chennai Super Kings, Venue: Chennai)
  • 2013: Mumbai Indians (Runner-up: Chennai Super Kings, Venue: Kolkata)
  • 2014: Kolkata Knight Riders (Runner-up: Kings XI Punjab, Venue: Bangalore)
  • 2015: Mumbai Indians (Runner-up: Chennai Super Kings, Venue: Kolkata)
  • 2016: Sunrisers Hyderabad (Runner-up: Royal Challengers Bangalore, Venue: Bangalore)
  • 2017: Mumbai Indians (Runner-up: Rising Pune Supergiants, Venue: Hyderabad)
  • 2018: Chennai Super Kings (Runner-up: Sunrisers Hyderabad, Venue: Mumbai)
  • 2019: Mumbai Indians (Runner-up: Chennai Super Kings, Venue: Hyderabad)
  • 2020: Mumbai Indians (Runner-up: Delhi Capitals, Venue: Dubai)
  • 2021: Chennai Super Kings (Runner-up: Kolkata Knight Riders, Venue: Dubai)
  • 2022: Gujarat Titans (Runner-up: Rajasthan Royals, Venue: Ahmedabad)
  • 2023: Chennai Super Kings (Runner-up: Gujarat Titans, Venue: Ahmedabad)

Fascinating records in IPL 2023

  • Akash Madhwal became the first bowler to take a five-wicket haul in an IPL playoff match, with figures of 5 for 5.
  • Madhwal’s performance was the best by any bowler in this IPL and the best against Gujarat Titans, surpassing Umran Malik’s 5 for 25.
  • Both Anil Kumble and Madhwal share the record for the best bowling figures by an Indian bowler in the IPL, with figures of 5 for 5.
  • Madhwal is the third bowler to take a five-wicket haul in this IPL, joining Mark Wood and Bhuvneshwar Kumar.
  • This IPL witnessed a record of 36 totals of 200-plus runs, including eight successful chases.
  • Sixteen matches in this edition saw totals of 400-plus runs, an all-time record.
  • Twelve matches featured both teams scoring 200-plus runs, surpassing the five matches in 2022.
  • Faf du Plessis recorded eight fifties, while Virat Kohli scored two centuries and six fifties, the most by any batter in this edition.
  • Mumbai Indians’ total of 218 for five is the highest against Gujarat Titans in the IPL.
  • Mumbai Indians achieved six totals of 200-plus runs in this IPL season, the most by any team.
  • Mumbai Indians completed four successful chases of 200-plus totals, a record for any team in an IPL season.

Frequently Asked Questions:

When will the IPL 2024 auction be held?

The official date for the IPL 2024 auction has not been announced yet. However, based on previous seasons, it is expected to take place at the back end of 2023.

When is the IPL 2024 season?

The exact dates for the IPL 2024 season have not been confirmed yet. Typically, the IPL season begins at the end of March and runs for approximately two months. The schedule for IPL 2023 was released in February, just before the opening match on March 31.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *