Virat Kohli Lost ICC Award

The Sir Garfield Sober’s trophy for the ICC Men’s Cricketer of the Year Award is the most prestigious in ICC history. Out of 18 times the award has been presented, 16 cricketers have won this award with three cricketers sharing it once at the same time in 2005. Of those two men who won it twice, they are Australia’s Ricky Ponting and Mitchell Johnson and India’s Virat Kohli.

The legendary Virat Kohli could have become the only cricketer to bagged this award for the most number of times. However, despite his excellent run in the year 2023, he did not win. Instead, he lost to Australia’s Pat Cummins, who himself had a great year as a cricketer and as a captain. Were his Fans disappointed after Virat Kohli Lost ICC Award for Cricketer of the Year 2023? You bet.

Before we get into the reactions, we take a look at Virat Kohli’s excellent performances in the year 2023 across all formats.


The Indian Maestro did not play a single T20 International cricket in that year. But despite that, he had a record where fans would go in awe. In One Day format, he was phenomenal. He was the second-highest run-scorer in the year. 

But one thing which set him aside from the world was his tremendous run in the 2023 Cricket World Cup, where he broke Sachin Tendulkar’s record for most runs in a single edition of the World Cup.

Also Read: Five Teams with the Best Chance to win the Africa Cup of Nations

Twitter Reacts as Fans Disappointed after Virat Kohli Lost ICC Award

Here are the reactions of the fans after learning that Virat Kohli have lost the ICC Award of Cricketer of the Year.

Read More:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *