ICC T20 World Cup 2022 is just around the corner with a total of 16 teams competing for the ultimate glory. The tournament will begin with the commencement of Round 1. The mega event will take place in Australia from 16 Oct to 13 Nov. Format used will be Group Stage and Knockouts. The schedule has been released by ICC.

Let’s review some exciting facts and prospects for this year’s T20 World Cup. 

Background of the Tournament 

The original timeline of the current tournament was scheduled for 2020, but the Corona Pandemic smashed all hopes for the event to occur. Hence, it was delayed till 2022, while the 2021 edition was to be hosted by India which again was moved to UAE due to the viral spread. 

So here we are with the eighth edition of the ICC Men’s T20 World cup. 

Teams and Qualifying Nations  

A total of 16 Teams will feature in this tournament. UAE and Ireland progressed to the tournament after winning their respective Global Qualifiers. Each of them was placed in two separate groups along with Namibia, Scotland, West Indies, Srilanka, Zimbabwe, and the Netherlands.

All these teams will play Round 1 and two teams from each group will progress toward the next stage. Round 2 features teams: Pakistan, India, Australia, New Zealand, South Africa, Afghanistan, England, and Bangladesh. 

All the teams have announced their Squads.

Also Read: Team ‘Injured’ India Getting Ready For T20 World Cup

Fixtures to watch out for:

Pakistan vs India: 

As always, the oldest rivalry will be the one worth watching. Two biggest competitors will come face to face at MCG on 23rd Oct. Babar’s men will have a face-off with Rohit’s guns. Let’s wait and watch who comes out on top. 

England vs Australia:

Cricket’s founding nations will also face each other and with both the teams having a sublime form it’s hard to say that anyone will be favourite in this encounter. 

Australia vs New Zealand:

Kiwis will be hungry for exemption after last year’s defeat in the T20 Worldcup final. They will be going all guns blazing against their finest foe. 

Venues of the T20 World Cup

The host cities are Adelaide, Brisbane, Geelong, Hobart, Melbourne, Perth and Sydney. The semi-finals will be held at the SCG and the Adelaide Oval. The final will take place at the Melbourne Cricket Ground.

Also Read:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *