FIFA The Best awards are one of the most prestigious accolades in the world of football. Each year, the awards recognise the best players, coaches, and teams from around the globe based on their performance over the previous 12 months. The 2023 edition of The Best awards was no different, with Lionel Messi and Alexia Putellas taking home the top honours for the best men’s and women’s players, respectively.

Men’s Fifa The Best Award: Lionel Messi

Lionel Messi, was the favourite to win The Best award, mainly due to his prolific performance for the National team in the World Cup glory. The Argentine forward had a fantastic 2022, leading Paris Saint-Germain to the Ligue 1 title and helping Argentina win the Finalissima and  World Cup. Messi scored 35 goals and provided 30  assists in 51 appearances across all competitions, cementing his position as one of the greatest players of all time.

Women Fifa The Best Award: Alexia Putellas

In the women’s category, Alexia Putellas was The Women’s Best for the second time in a row. The Spanish midfielder who plays for FC Barcelona had an outstanding 2022. Putellas saw her club win the league title for the 3rd consecutive time. After scoring 34 goals last season and guiding the team to glory, it was evident that Putellas would be given the honours. 

Men The Best GoalKeeper: Emiliano Martinez

The Best Men’s Goalkeeper award was clinched by Emiliano Martinez. The Argentinian keeper had an amazing year, which included World Cup glory. He had some consistent performances at the club level, too and performed some of the most important saves in Argentinian football history, including the one in the concluding minutes of the Qatar World Cup Final. 

Women The Best GoalKeeper: Mary Earps

The Women’s Goalkeeper Award went to Mary Earps of England, beating Ann-Katrin Berger of Chelsea and Christiane Endler of Lyon. Mary Earps had an amazing year, both for the country and club. She played an integral part in England’s successful run at UEFA Women’s Euro 2022, as she conceded only two goals.

Puskas Awards: Marcin Oleksy

Puskas Award went to Marcin Oleksy, who became the first amputee footballer to secure the honours after his insane overhead kick. For his amazing scissor kick for Warta Poznan against Stal Rzeszow in the PZU Amp Futbol Ekstraklasa, Marcin is awarded the Puskas Award for The Best Goal.

The Best Fans: Argentinian Fans

The Best Fan award went to Argentinian Fans. Argentina’s fans captivated the whole world while cheering their team to World Cup glory in Qatar, which helped Messi and his team feel confident that the fans were with them, whatever the result.

The Fairplay Award: Luka Lochoshvili

The Fairplay award went to Luka Lochoshvili. The Georgian defender made headlines when he rushed to the aid of opponent George Teigl in the Austrian Bundesliga. His quick thinking potentially saved the life of George, who lay on the ground unconscious.

The Best Coaches Awards Men and Women: Lionel Scaloni & Sarina Wiegman

FIFA the Best awards also recognised the best coaches in men’s and women’s football, with Argentina’s National Coach, Lionel Scaloni, winning the men’s award and Sarina Wiegman of England Women, winning the women’s Best Coach award. 

Also Read: 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *